Make anticipation work for you

I’ve been looking forward to next week for over a year. Back then, as well as working, I was coming to the end of my Post Graduate Diploma in Psychosynthesis Counselling training (which I’d started in 2008) and had recently embarked on my Yoga Therapy for Mental Health training. There was an overlap and I didn’t think I’d be able to manage.

Looking back, I’m not sure how I did. It’s meant working almost every evening and weekend for years but it’s nearly over. Although I have been working since 9am and have several hours’ ahead of me and I’ll be working all of this weekend, I’ll then be handing in my final essay and (assuming I pass…), I’ll no longer be a student. I’ll still work some evenings and weekends but not in the flat out way things have had to be.

Much as I’ve been loving all I’ve been learning, I’m really relieved (as is my bank account). And, of the friends I’ve stayed in touch with, one has had me sign a piece of paper promising no more training for at least a year. While I’ve been coaching and writing loads around work / life balance, I’ve not had much of my own.

The end of these studies also coincides with Graduation and my birthday so I’m looking forward to lots of celebrations. And, with all I’ve learned, I know that the anticipation of each will make the week even better as feel good neurotransmitter dopamine floods my system. I visualised myself:

* in that cap and gown when the counselling training felt too hard

* working with yoga therapy clients when revising the neuroscience and physiology components felt too much for my brain

* spending time with friends having FUN and not stressing about loads of deadlines on top of work deadlines

What Happy Thoughts keep you going when the week’s a struggle? Whether you’ve been looking forward to this weekend or something else, let yourself enjoy every minute of anticipation. Let it motivate and inspire you to keep going. Whatever you’re working towards, know that it’s worth your continued efforts.

And enjoy the results!

Find out more about improving your wellbeing at the weekends, at work and in all areas of your life at http://www.wellbeing-at-work.co.uk/id1.html

Leave a Reply

