Do you spend more time thinking about holidays than you do about your life?

‘I find it fascinating that most people plan their vacations with better care than they plan their lives.’ Jim Rohn

Sura Nualpradid

I love this quote by Jim Rohn. And since I’ve been my own boss (2004), am happy to report that it’s not the case for me.

I really enjoy my day to day life. Which is a good thing as, for most of my years of self-employment so far, holidays have been few and far between (endless trainings meant that most of my time, energy and money went on courses. Fortunately, I adore learning, too).

Still, much as I love to travel and visit other places and people, I’m always very happy to come home (am also abnormally happy to be able to take some work with me).

Having said that, holidays are wonderful. Having things to look forward to and that anticipation of reward (ie, having a fantabulous holiday) can help release more dopamine (feel good hormone associated with motivation and pleasure).

But if you find that your holidays are far more than a nice break from the day to day, you may want to rethink your everyday life.

What do you most feel the need to escape from?

Is there a way you can create a life which involves less of these kinds of things?

Is it a matter of getting away your everyday reality or do you adore the places you’re visiting?

If it’s the latter, is there some way you could potentially move there?

What else do you love about your time away?

How might you incorporate more of these things into your everyday life?

Metta xx

Image courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net / Sura Nualpradid

Leave a Reply

